It’s been a challenging and funny last few days for me. I have had some good workouts and a couple not so good. But the biggest obstacle I’ve faced has been the negativity bug that has attempted to take me down. This has been more than just a humbling bug, which we all can use sometimes, its been an all out take you down you suck type of bug. The obstacle beast will prevail, I just need to fight this with positivity and accomplishments.

What has me down the most is that I have spent the last few days with some very negative people. Negativity is like a virus and can spread before you even know you have been infected. Rather than get into all of the details, mostly to save those who may one day stumble across my blog, thought that’s not likely, I just have to say that gossip combined with hate and negative thoughts, just eats a person from the inside out.

I’m in the gym tomorrow and I’m going to kill it!! I ran today and am still feeling a lot of the negative energy so I’m going to beat up some iron tomorrow and shake this crap off me. I also have another 5K this weekend where I am damned determined to get under 30 minutes. If you remember, I had one the weekend before last and got in at 31:16 with a third place finish for my age group. I realize that this race will be bigger and my age group will be more competitive, but I don’t give a damn who’s out there, this is competition with myself and the obstacle within! I’m out there, I’m doing it, and I’m breaking personal records!!

Some people thrive on drama and negativity. They’re toxic individuals who only want to bring you down to their level and take away your accomplishments. Either they don’t have the same or because they’re not willing/able to find the accomplishments in their own life. Fight that stuff off. Get back out there and remember that today is your day and you can only LET people make you feel bad. If the negativity bug gets you, recognize it and move on. The cure lies in working hard, being proud of yourself and who you are, and focusing on your personal obstacles in front of you.

I am a beast, and I will dominate THIS obstacle too!!

Leave a comment